1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Aoi as a character...

Discussion in 'Aoi' started by plan17, Mar 20, 2002.

1. plan17

plan17 Active Member

it has begun to dawn on me (i'm a newbie) that Aoi is really not as effective a fighter as the others... The few movies i've seen with Aoi show her either getting demolished, or winning by the narrowest of margins... I'm a fan of her fighting style, but it seems at this point that the effort that i'm putting into her is kind of a waste of time...

2. Tetra

Tetra Well-Known Member

aoi is really really hard to use imo... she doesn't have any major combos at all. Most damaging float is like 73 or something and it requires MC /versus/images/icons/frown.gif

Like alot of pple say, aoi is high risk low reward char. You really need to put in ALOT of effort to make her a worthwhile char.

Basically newbie/beginners are better off with jacky, lau , etc.

3. ice-9

ice-9 Well-Known Member

Aoi was on the whole weakened in Version C (or made harder to win with by a poking style of play) primarily as a result of the toned down double stop.

However, while on offense she may appear to be high risk and low reward relative to other characters, one should realize that defending with Aoi should be much easier than other characters. Her inashi, her G-cancels, her small frame, quick speed--these things should make defending with Aoi easier.

4. ken

ken Well-Known Member

A good Aoi is achievable.
    Aoi has many moves that gives her an advantage when blocked. Her double stop is a great option for a stomach crumble.

Vs a friend of mine he seems to rely heavily on:

D,df+P
    f+K
    dodge a lot
    Yin Yang stance