1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Jeffrey questions

Discussion in 'Jeffry' started by UnknowingNote, Nov 18, 2012.

1. UnknowingNote

UnknowingNote Active Member

XBL:
    UnknowingNote
    Hello all, I am fairly new to this game, picked it up about, 4 weeks ago or so. I used to main Eileen, and then went towards Jeffrey for throws and power, and stuck with him ever since then.

I spend at least 2 hours or so every time I get on in dojo mode, practicing moves and everything else. I looked up some guides on here, and I have trouble understanding some of them, like the "55p" or anything like that, would someone explain that to me please? I tried searching around for it, and came up empty, so I apologize.

I was also wondering if anyone else here plays Jeffrey, because I have not ran in to any other Jeffrey players at all since playing this. I was wondering if I could have someone teach me a couple things to do with him, and help me learn how to read people better.

I have his basic combos down, his jabs, and other things. The most damage I have thrown together with a combo is 115 damage; but it requires a setup in one of his 3-4 knock-ups. I can string together basic stuff to make it into larger combos, and always figure out new things to do. I think my problem is, that I just try to go for them more often, than actually just playing, and flowing along smoothly.

I sometimes get discouraged because I get beat 3 rounds to 0, or I win 2, and lose the next 3. Jeffrey seems to not get a lot of play time, would anyone care to explain why this is? I want to know what I am messing up on, and how to correct it.