1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Need help with Taka's wake-up game

Discussion in 'Taka' started by Modelah, Jan 6, 2013.

1. Modelah

Modelah Well-Known Member VFDC Translator Content Manager Taka

PSN:
    Modelah
    I mentioned in another thread that I'm not very good at applying pressure after I've knocked an opponent down.
    I noticed that some players are really good and I get hit by their attacks while rising more often than not.
    I've been trying:
    K
    6P+K,P,P
    4,3P
    K+G,P among other things.
    I suspect I'm just not getting the timing and spacing right.
    How do you guys keep the pressure on a downed opponent?

2. YOMI

YOMI not a legendary game designer

PSN:
    buttoi-man
    Just about as simple as after they tech, run up to them and mixup a mid or a throw, or just block if you think they're going to "wake up reversal" if you don't handle meaties. If you think they're going to do a rising attack, 43P, 33P+K and 6K are your best options for beating them, though this takes careful timing. For low rising attacks, you can try to jump over it and then crouch throw them. Remember too that side tech rolls leave the opponent crouching so you get a guaranteed crouch throw attempt if timed well.

Modelah likes this.
  3. Modelah

PSN:
    Modelah
    Dude, what's a 'meaty'?
    Thanks for the advice. I didn't know side techs finish in a crouch, I'll have to keep my eyes open.

4. NGKrush

NGKrush Well-Known Member

PSN:
    de_kroet
    XBL:
    de kroet