1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Pai strategies for novices

Discussion in 'Pai' started by TRI Mike, Sep 14, 2012.

1. TRI Mike

TRI Mike Member

PSN:
    Abuelo_RPG
    XBL:
    TRI Mike
    Hey everyone. I'm kinda new to this franchise and new to this site. It's awesome to see such great content around. As I've mentioned in other posts in the General and Aoi sub-forums, I'm also a DOA player, that's my main game so I'm having trouble getting used to the style of play in Virtua.

One of the things I find most difficult to get used to is that in DOA there's a HUGE amount of moves that stun because the stun game there is much different so it's usual for us DOA players to land a few hits and stop the offensive because the stunned opponent can throw a "counterhold" (reversal). I keep doing this in Virtua with my three characters: Pai, Aoi and Eileen. I land a few moves and just stop to block or attempt a throw but my opponent hits me.

I've tried to simply land one string after the other attempting guaranteed situations but most of the cast just beat my attacks because I'm still not familiar with how frame data works here. So, especifically for Pai, I'd like to get advice on how to keep pressure. Which are the best moves to mantain it and start it from both a distance and close-quarters.

Thanks in advance.

PoisonKid13 likes this.
  2. Pai~Chun

Pai~Chun Well-Known Member

XBL:
    Lishao Tao GPK