1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Starting out with Akira

Discussion in 'Akira' started by Modelah, Sep 27, 2013.

By Modelah on Sep 27, 2013 at 7:28 AM
  1. Modelah

Modelah Well-Known Member VFDC Translator Content Manager Taka

PSN:
    Modelah
    Note: This was written by Joseph and translated by Modelah.

Joseph's VF5FS Beginner's Blog post

Hello everyone, I play Virtua Fighter as Joseph (but you can call me JoJo, too).
    I've been playing VF for about 14 years now, and have been competing for the past 7 years or so. I've never swayed from my main character, Akira.

Akira's Charactersitics, Strengths and Weaknesses
    Akira's appeal lies in the destructiveness of his attacks and overall coolness factor. Being quite different from the rest of the VF cast, he can be daunting for new players to pick up. However, once you get used to how he works you'll be able to unlock his overwhelming attacking power. In this version of VF, he's generally thought of as 'the strongest character', for reasons I will outline below.

It will take some time to use Akira efficiently. He has some high-damage combos that can be difficult to pull off. The combos listed here are entry level combos, so let's start there.

Basic Skills
    Elbow class:
    [3][P]: A common elbow. A simple input. Speedy, and good to use for quick retaliation.