1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Virtual Fighter 4

Discussion in 'General' started by kiko17, Mar 22, 2016.

1. kiko17

kiko17 Member

Hi, I am brand new to virtua fighter. I played some other fighting games before and I play smash a lot. But something drew me to virtua fighter. I have a wii u and a ps2 but not a xbox 360 or ps3. Is VF4 a good game to get introduced to the series? Or should I wait and save money for VF5.

2. Stl_Tim

Stl_Tim Well-Known Member

Stay far away from VF5 series and purchase VF4 Evolution for the ps2. It has an amazing resource for enjoying and learning true VF.
    Cheers

coolforever and Ares-olimpico like this.
  3. kiko17

kiko17 Member

Thanks, i 've heard vf4 evolution is the pinnacle of the series. What did they change in vf5 that strayed away from the essence of the series.

Ares-olimpico likes this.
  4. Stl_Tim

Stl_Tim Well-Known Member

Here is a short list that I consider very relevant to the changes you wish to know. After reading this, understand I come from the vf4 generation and this cycle might be similar to vf3 style players thinking the same way towards their iteration.

P<counter hit guaranteed throw is gone. This insured light weights power as a threat in the game seeing as they have faster executable punches. It made every weight class pay attention to hit checking. Keeping weight class threat is very important for EVERY character.

Ducking opponents can't be staggered any more by mids unless your a select few, but that isn't even applicable at small advantage since these moves are bigger to execute. Now, they can flail w/o regret unless a hard guess is created to ch them.