1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Why do you play with Lion?

Discussion in 'Lion' started by keensab, Feb 6, 2007.

1. keensab

keensab Member

Where are all the Lion players at?

I started playing vf:evo about 3 years ago and instantly gravitated towards Lion's bravado. The fact the he can annoy opponents even before the match starts only adds to his effectiveness.

His style is conducive to both constant flurries that never end, or hit and run tactics.

What about you guys?

2. 001

001 Well-Known Member Content Mgr El Blaze

i started playing lion because his command list was the only one i could go through perfectly when i first started training in evo. :p

3. ETPharaoh

ETPharaoh Well-Known Member

I started playing VF when VF2 came out, picked Lion as my character and have played pretty much exclusively with Lion since then. Has it really been over 10 years now? At any rate... Why Lion? Two reasons.

1. Praying Mantis kung fu. I've taken mantis (albeit Southern mantis as opposed to Lion's Northern) from one of the few remaining genuine masters: http://masterginfoonmark.com/ ). I greatly respect mantis and its effectivity.

2. Lion, from what I was told and can recall, was rated the worst character in VF2. Part of my fighting games philosophy is to take a character who is generally regarded to be weak and bring him to a point where he can compete and defeat the "top tier" characters with style. I can remember when I started playing VF2 people were telling me to pick Jacky because he was relatively "easy" to learn/compete with. My response to that? "Fuck that."