1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Fighting against faster characters

Discussion in 'Dojo' started by Radames, Mar 6, 2005.

1. Radames

Radames Member

So I'm relatively new to VF4, and I've been playing Lei. My main competition usually plays Akira, and I have no trouble schooling him. However when he switches to a faster character like Pai or Aoi the tables are turned and I can't seem to do a thing. I end up perpetually on the defensive, and the only combos I can seem to get in start with very fast but weak moves. I've tried to slow down and make more deliberate choices but when I do this I seem to be too slow. Are my reflexes just not good enough?

So any suggestions from you vets on how to take down a fast character with a slower one? I think the problem here is that Lei is not a big guy, his attacks do not do as much damage as Jeffry; yet he's only mid-speed compared to the rest, and while he has good defense recovery time his attacks seem to take too long to start.

Thanks for your help!

2. PhoenixDth

PhoenixDth Well-Known Member

vs jab 3 options
    sabaki [2][3][6][P]+[K]
    low ducking attack [4][6][P]+[K]
    or reverse humiliate [8][P][K][G] stance

it all depends on how well you can read your opponent

anything other than a jab poke, you can most likely sidestep safely to continue advantage. cancel into [3][3][P][P] combos, only if they're still aggressive (hit check), or throw if they're on the defensive after sidestep.

another option to beat that is [8][P][K][G] stance into [2][K]+[G] - sidestepping low sweep

any other move is probably slower and will leave you at advantage if you block.

3. Radames

Radames Member

[ QUOTE ]