1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Lack of Newbie-Friendy Guides for VF

Discussion in 'Dojo' started by Supid, Jul 25, 2006.

1. Supid

Supid Well-Known Member

Firstly, I'm a newbie at VF

Okie, maybe not a newbie, a beginner. I've been following VF on and off since its first incarnation, but never caught on to any significant depth of gameplay. Right now in VF4, I am still trying to get pass the basic gameplay of attack/guard/punish/recover.

I depended heavily on easily accessible and understood FAQs. In VF2, while struggling with Jacky, I found James M. Ross' FAQ on Gamefaqs very useful, primarily because he made the effort to go through most moves in detail (there were other good VF2 faqs, but I only played Jacky then). He was very kind to explain some elementary concepts to me through email. During VF3 days I was sidetracked by another blockbuster title from Sega, so only play bits here and there. I dabbled in the other characters but only picked up Pai to any playable extent

When VF4 came out, once again I struggled with all the new things. Unfortunately, there seems to be a dearth of VF4-For-Dummies documents. After mucking around with my surface knowledge using Jacky and Pai, I started shopping for a new character to try out and settled on ... Kage; I wanted to learn his cool DPK and TFT. As luck would have it, a M. Ramsan has made a special effort to write a very comprehensive Kage FAQ that I easily found on Gamefaqs. I never could master the timing for TFT-Knee combos (and am stuck with [2][P]+[K] combos), but thanks to his FAQ, Kage became my third character and I started playing a bit of attention to frames.