1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Starting out with Goh #5- Ringouts

Discussion in 'Goh' started by Modelah, May 6, 2014.

1. Modelah

Modelah Well-Known Member VFDC Translator Content Manager Taka

PSN:
    Modelah
    Note: This post is the fifth of seven written by Midi and translated by Modelah.

Midi's VF5FS Beginner's Blog post

1. How complete beginners can win! (part 1)
    2. How complete beginners can win! (part 2)
    3. Sabaki moves
    Sideturned
    5. Ringouts
    6. Goh vs. Goh
    7. The Wall Game

5. Ringouts

Some of the stages in this game don't have walls, and if a player leaves the ring they will lose the round. Players unfamiliar to VF may consider this an unfair and cowardly way to win. It's not! VF is a 3D fighter by nature, and you have to be able to postion yourself during the round as a result. Ringouts are a legit tactic, you should be using your position in the arena to your advantage. Whenever you have a chance to ring someone out, you shouldn't think twice about going for it!

I personally think Goh has quite a good ringout game. He has a number of combos that carry quite well so I think he's well-equipped for ringouts.

Recommended moves for ringouts
    [3][3][P]- This will knock down on normal hit and works against standing and crouching opponents. This works quite well from mid distances too, but is throw-punishable on guard. Some characters can throw you behind them and ring you out if you're not careful, so be sure to always input a throw escape when attempting this move.
    Combo:
    [3][3][P], dash, [P], [4][6][P][+][K][P][6][P]- This takes practice to get the timing down.​