1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

A nub's Lau

Discussion in 'Lau' started by Dae, Jun 10, 2012.

1. Dae

Dae Member

XBL:
    Daemondym
    Poor misunderstood Lau. I read the choosing a character thread and he was described as 'boring' and 'All you do is press punch and arrow keys'...

I'm completely new to pvp VF, as is shown by my massive loss record, but, let me share what I've learned.

1kk
    You can't combo off it unless there's a wall, but you can play a wicked ranging game with it. It ducks under high strikes, kds and generally is a great way to break pressure and get some breathing room. I've won games playing a cautious 1kk and 4k and kk strategy. Anyone who thinks Lau is all punch just needs to learn the beauty of range timing.

Are they blocking 1k and ducking the second kick yet?
    Once this happens, the game is yours. Start unloading with 3p combos and walk them to the walls where 1kk is really brutal. Dropped your combo? No problem! Hang back and use 1kk to punish any chance of counter pressure.

Lau is patient. Leave pressure to Jacky and Akira. Learn defense and sidestepping and how to break pressure with KD. Wait for your moment and punish any time you get advantage. Maybe other people find this boring, but Lau is all about finding the single moment to break his opponent in half. His damage output is some of the best in the game, and he knocks back for miles. Boot them out or wall pound them until they're sorry they ever attacked you.

And remember.. 1kk beats all ppp strings.

2. the_Quest

the_Quest New Member