1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

accurate depicition of judo?

Discussion in 'Junky's Jungle' started by Byne_Rhode, Sep 3, 2005.

1. Byne_Rhode

Byne_Rhode Active Member

I always thought judo was mainly about using your opponent's movements (punches,kicks, etc) against them (i'm no expert though). I'm aware that it's still somewhat strike based, but i was wondering what ppl thought sega could do to make it more accurate (if they even need to). I thought maybe give him more sabakis but that seems like w/ too many he could be abused. Maybe give him sabaki/inashi type moves with new stagger properties unique to him, or something similar to Aoi's tenchi stance? any thoughts?

2. akiralove

akiralove Well-Known Member

XBL:
    JTGC
    Goh isn't an accurate representation of Judo at all really. I think AM2 realized that they couldn't really make a pure Judoka, as Judo has no strikes. A character w/out strikes wouldn't really be effective in VF, since it would reduce offense would be reduced to HIgh/Low throw, which could be nullified w/ low P. Also, in order to get an oppt. to guard or dodge, (setting up for throw) you need a reason: Strikes.

That's why they gave Goh his "Killing Judo", which usually shows him starting/finishing traditional Judo throws and grapples with strikes. Add nasty personality & bad guy story line as reasons for the "Killing Judo", and you have Goh.

maybe in another post I'll add what I think would make Goh more like a real Judoka, but I have to sleep atm /versus/images/graemlins/smile.gif.

Bryan

3. Cephiros_VII

Cephiros_VII Well-Known Member

[ QUOTE ]
    akiralove said: