1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Aoi mindset question

Discussion in 'Aoi' started by matt, May 9, 2002.

1. matt

matt New Member

Hi, newbie here playing Aoi.

Firstly, many thanks for the quality of posts here, they're very useful to me as a newish player (though with the game *finally* becoming available in the UK for PS2, hopefully I'll improve)

I'm playing three characters at the moment; Pai, Vanessa and Aoi. Pai has a fab FAQ, and, while the Vanessa FAQ doesn't yet exist, there's a great thread on this. Aoi doesn't seem to have many players, or even much energy around her. Checking the usual media sites for examples of play doesn't do much more than highlight that she could be truly extraordinary

So, whilst all tips and tricks are most welcome - let me ask just the one question:

Should you try to play Aoi like Pai, majoring on the fast poking, elbows, whatever; or like Jeffry/Akira, majoring on throws and reversals? What's the right mindset to approach Aoi with - especially if reversals really are harder to do in VF4 than in VF3?

cheers

2. Robyrt

Robyrt Well-Known Member