1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Character Loyalty, Kage Power

Discussion in 'Kage' started by ice-9, Oct 27, 2004.

1. ice-9

ice-9 Well-Known Member

Well I thought this post might be timely given all the recent angst being poured around lately. I have played Kage since I started playing VF, though I flirted with changing primary characters in the past (Lion in VF2, Wolf early in VF3). I was never serious about doing it....until FT.

After playing FT in Tokyo, Hong Kong, and Singapore, I came to the realization that while my Kage won very consistently against opponents of lesser skill, I had trouble beating those of equal or better skill. I almost never upset a highly ranked opponent in Tokyo with Kage. Further, against the best players in Hong Kong and Singapore, my Kage was frequently sub-50%. My Evo Kage, on the other hand, had a 77% win rate and I always felt I had a good chance against highly ranked opponents in Tokyo.

While my FT Kage was poor, my FT Jeffry was a monster. If I defeated any elite players on my recent Tokyo trip, it was with Jeffry. My Jeffry is around 50% with Hong Kong's and Singapore's best. In fact, I had started out with a 60% win rate with about 150 matches from Evo going into Hong Kong, and two weeks later, emerged with a 72% win rate with about 300 matches. This roughly translates to an +80% win rate in Hong Kong!