1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Combo help

Discussion in 'Dojo' started by cooks94, Apr 8, 2002.

1. cooks94

cooks94 Well-Known Member

Hey im new to VF just started w/ 4. The only other fighting games i play are Street fighter and Tekken (im sorry about the tekken ill never to it again.) But i usually just smashed the controles and sucked.

Then i got VF4 and my life was changed i saw the depth of it, how cool it is and the compleatly diffrent playing styles for the diffrent characters.

My question is can any of you guys give me hints on how to build good combos. I have tried but they all suck and get reversed or just guarded by the comps and other people. I got to 8th dan by cheesing my way threw and have a record of 213 wins and 4 losses by doing the same thing over and over again. I really want to get good at this game because its so interesting. I would appreciate any help you guys could give.

2. Bu_Jessoom

Bu_Jessoom Well-Known Member

The best thing I would suggest after learning the moves is to do the trial training. Go through it to learn most of the concepts of the game; learn the mechanics, what some moves would do if they hit normal, if they hit on Major Counter (MC). Look at the movelists here in the site and look under the notes columns for any move, and then try it on training to see what the meaning is. For example, you see a move that says " Head Crumble " under notes, so you can try it in free training and see what it does and think of how you can use that to your advantage.