1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Controller for n00bs(specifally Akira players)...stcik or pad?

Discussion in 'Console' started by Isamu, Feb 28, 2004.

1. Isamu

Isamu Active Member

Hi guys! I have been playing VF for the PS2 with a pad on and off for a couple months now and I'm used to a pad. I have started training with Akira a couple days ago and man, some of his moves are just torturously hard! But I've managed to accomplish most of them with the PS2 gamepad.

I also own a MAS Arcade stick(which as you know is an exact replica of the arcade) for the PS2 and it works well enough for Streetfighter type games. I am now wondering if D-pad/Stick moves with Akira are better executed using an actual arcade stick or a d-pad? Button presses would certainly take me a while to get used to on a stick, since you have to do them simulabeously, especially since I have a standard SF 6 button style layout, and not a VF one.

But yesterday, I tried out the stick for the first time with Akira(in training of course) and while quite a few moves can be done a little easier with a stick, it is very difficult to hit the diagonals in a couple of the bigger 2 and 3 step moves. I just can't see myself pulling these off consistently in a match.

Have any of you started out with Akira with a gamepad and almost gave up but didn't, and then switched to an arcade stick and then were able to pull off his moves with ease? What controller were/are you using?