1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

How to punish with Aoi

Discussion in 'Aoi' started by TRI Mike, Sep 3, 2012.

1. TRI Mike

TRI Mike Member

PSN:
    Abuelo_RPG
    XBL:
    TRI Mike
    Hey everyone, I'm kinda new to the game and trying to understand most of the mechanics and things. I come from DOA where punishing is done by throwing because most throws there are unbreakable and execute in less than 10 frames. But in VF I'm having trouble finding ways to punish my opponents after I block their strings. Sometimes I just PPP or 6P them or even attempt 4P+G but I don't know if I'm doing it correctly. As far as I'm concerned, and I could be totally wrong here, every throw in VF comes out in 10 frames regardless of the command and damage output, so punishing moves with throws like in DOA is definitely not what should be done here.

So, any help¿

2. MannyBiggz

MannyBiggz Well-Known Member

PSN:
    MannyBiggz
    XBL:
    Manello Biggz
    Aoi's punishment is kind of weak outside of scoring easy knockdowns IMO. Not all throws are 10f in this game. Not sure if Aoi has any slower throws, but here's the general rules as far as guaranteed punishment goes.

At -10 you do get a free throw attempt as long as the opponent is in a standing or crouch throw attempt if they're stuck crouching. Of course you need a perfect input or they can just attack and beat out your throw. In this game, attacks beat throws unless you're grabbing them with proper timing on a -10 or more disadvantage.