1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Lei-Fei's Double Palm Sabaki

Discussion in 'Lei' started by Deniz, May 15, 2002.

1. Deniz

Deniz Well-Known Member

I am just getting into using Lei-Fei and am also compiling an errata listing for his Version C Command List. In doing so, I've encountered something that has confused me, and I would appreciate some help. His QCF+P+K Double Palm is supposedly a Sabaki vs punches and elbows. But I am not totally convinced. In an earlier thread on Sabakis and Inashis, ken (who is our local Lei-Fei expert) said: "Sabaki is a strike thats defeat oncoming attack and cause damage from the if the strike connects. You'll notice a scratching sound and a stagger-like animation from the opponent." I've used this as a general guide for testing if a move is a Sabaki. Well, when I input Lei's Double Palm, I hear no scratching sound, so I am a bit confused. Something definitely does happen versus enemy attacks, but it just doesn't seem like a Sabaki. I can't even see an actual deflection of the opponent's move. It just seems to overpower the opponent. If I hadn't read that it was a Sabaki, I would just assume the move has some unusual priority over enemy attacks. In fact, it seems to work well not just against punches and elbows, but all attacks as well, so if it is a Sabaki, I am not sure why other attacks aren't included as those it is a Sabaki versus. Can anybody help me with understanding why this is a Sabaki vs punches and elbows? What should I be noticing/hearing/seeing that would confirm this?

2. ken

ken Well-Known Member

A sabaki is an attack.

The double palm's initial execution will parry any oncoming HP, MP, ME, HE.