1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

New to this forum, used to VF.

Discussion in 'New Starter' started by Cam, Sep 27, 2014.

1. Cam

Cam New Member

I've lurked around here a few times, and I thought it was finally time to make an account.

A long while back, a friend and I traded games for some time, as he was moving away. I don't remember what I traded him, but he traded me Virtua Fighter 4. At first, I thought the game was a clumsy Tekken ripoff. Didn't care for any of the characters very much, aside from Kage, and I was really turned off by the pretty bad voice-acting.

I played it once in a while, until eventually I discovered Aoi, then I started playing more and more and trying to get into the game. At this point, Aoi was my favorite character with Kage being a somewhat distant second, though I always felt he was really difficult to use.

I owned that for.. Years, it feels like. Eventually, I got a PS3, and sometime later I knew I wanted to get Virtua Fighter 5. I ended up with Final Showdown, which was what I really wanted, anyway. I main'd Aoi for the longest time, I experimented with some characters here and there but mostly tried to hone my Aoi abilities. After 1350 games, I've decided to stop messing around and try to improve my skills.

I'm actually pretty terrible with Aoi. I have a bad sense of fundamentals as it is, but I really forget them with Aoi since I tend to rely on reversals. A lot of players rely on one or two long strings. Aside from that, I'm about 60-70% familiar with her moveset.

I took the time to try to learn Kage, too. I don't know any combos with him, so it's just relying on spacing and timing.