1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

new to VF4

Discussion in 'Junky's Jungle' started by capercat, Oct 8, 2001.

1. capercat

capercat Well-Known Member

hello ... i'm new to VF4, though i used to play VF2 a bit, for the last while i've been a tekken player but am being drawn more and more to take up VF. i'm from around toronto, ontario btw ... anyways any advice on how to approach learning the game?

2. ice-9

ice-9 Well-Known Member

Everyone has a crouch dash, so you might approach a VF character as you would a Mishima. Also, in Tekken, it's made out such that a good "mix up" is considered something uncommon...in VF, everyone has good mix ups (i.e. there's less poking and more precision).

3. capercat

rrr, mishimas (i'm a ling player btw) ... but yes i've seen the crouch dashing in VF4 vids ... but its use didn't seem similar, i.e in tekken its a matter of wavedash in, and then simply guess between throw, sweep, mid hit. i'm guessing that the role of the CD in VF is a bit more than that.
    thats an interesting comparison also about mix-ups ... actually what really struck me about VF play is that when two characters stand in close range in t4 its a rather dull affair, you get two TTT players who panic cause they can't backdash ... whereas in VF it seems like there is more thought going on there.

4. Llanfair

Llanfair Well-Known Member

Erm, Jeff, the motions for crouch dashing in Tekken are very different and really nothing like VF crouch dashing. However, from a gameplay perspective, the two are somewhat similar, I guess - use crouch dashing to mix it up.
    Really, crouch dashing in VF is especially used for modifying moves that come from a crouch.