1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Newbie wondering about SPoD

Discussion in 'The Vault' started by Guest, Oct 22, 1999.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Hi, I only just bought VF3 4 days ago (together w/ the DC)... So I am a complete newbie... But one who may just join in the fight for VF's survival - I have played about 20 hours since then ;-) Q: SPod... I know theoretically how to do it... only can't get it to work... Can you give me some more Info on timing the moves? Thx

2. Llanfair

Llanfair Well-Known Member

Brief SPoD guide...

The SPoD. The elusive Akira special and the coolest looking move ever made in a fighting game.

There are a few things you should check to see if you're doing it right.

1. Can you do the reverse bodycheck (RBC) consistently on it's own? Practice the RBC on it's own (<font color=white>b,df+P+G</font color=white>) to make sure you've got the <font color=white>b,df+P+K</font color=white> motions down well. This is usually most people's difficulty - sometimes they go too fast and end up cranking out <font color=white>b,f+P+K</font color=white> or something of the like.

2. There can be no overlap between the moves at all. This, too, is a very common mishap. Overlapping the Stun Palm with the RBC motions will get you nothing unfortunately. In order to ensure no overlap, try doing the Stun Palm, RBC as <font color=white>f+P+K+G, b,df+P+K</font color=white>. The forward motion with the Stun Palm is fine, and it won't let you do the <font color=white>b,df+P+K</font color=white> too soon.