1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

NOOB at VF using a ps2 pad :(

Discussion in 'Dojo' started by happy_GOH_lucky, Mar 26, 2006.

1. happy_GOH_lucky

happy_GOH_lucky Active Member

hi. im a noob at vf. for those of you who are advance player of vf, i need some help with using a ps2 pad. my first character is jacky bryant, and i use a pad for him. i can do all of his command and combo in the practice mode. but it just seems that i just cant play play him effectively with a pad, maybe because im still new at vf. also, i really like to use akira more than anything..but damn is he HARD. is it even possible to use a pad for him? i am having trouble with the spod and the double palm. i can never get the second punch right.
    for the VF4 game as a whole, is it possible to be really good at the game by using a control pad? do any of you advance player still use a pad for vf4? give me some suggestion with the pad!

2. vanity

vanity Well-Known Member

The difficulties in inputting certain commands only comes at the highest level of play, so don't think using a pad is going to prevent you from becoming a great player.

Being able to do all of jacky's moves is great, but learning the mechanics of the game is the most important part.

Akira is arguably one of the best characters in the game for learning the mechanics with due to his relatively small movelist, so you'll learn to pick your attacks instead of going for random PPP combos.

Also, go through the trianing modes, they help, even though you'll forget everything after you finish them. Eventually you'll understand what they're trying to tell you.

3. happy_GOH_lucky