1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

noob ques2: reversals

Discussion in 'Junky's Jungle' started by agios_katastrof, Apr 22, 2002.

1. agios_katastrof

agios_katastrof Well-Known Member

Hello, VF noob here, again.

Question: How the heck do you pull off reversals? I mean, yes, I know the command executions, and against the Kumite AI, I can do it with decent success after memorizing their sequence of moves. But against people, no way. The other day, I went against a bunch of button mashers, and one good SF player, also new to VF. And for the life of me, I must have had perhaps a 10% successful reversal rate, and this was using Aoi and Vanessa. Sigh. Rather embarrassing, since I'm trying to tell these guys that this isn't a button mashing game. Not a very good VF4 evangelist am I.

At first, I thought the reversals were something like parries in SF, or like those reversal moves that Cammy, Rock, etc have. In those games, I can see a move coming, and parry/reversal on reaction. In VF4, the moves just come too fast, and I just can't see them coming. And everything happens at point blank range, too, making reversals harder (yes, I'm a 2D game playing scrub, trying to make it in the 3D world).

So how the heck do you guys reverse successfully? Are there ways to setup a reversal (like setting up a throw, which fortunately for me, isn't all that different from SF) ? Or to put it another way, how the heck do you use Aoi correctly?

Again, much thx.

2. Robyrt

Robyrt Well-Known Member