Reading Akira's FAQ's combo section, but what is PG?

Discussion in 'Akira' started by Mirage, Jul 3, 2002.

  1. Mirage

    Mirage Well-Known Member

    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    *3) ShRm--> PG--> SDE| DJK| DLC| AS3
    R: none
    Should be your staple normal hit ShRm combo; go for either the DLC or DJK;
    very good against heavyweights, as it is very consistent to hit.


    [/ QUOTE ]

    I think I have seen this combo many times in those VF4 video, but all I see is they do a standing punch and thee DLC, could someone tell me about this PG thing?

    Thanks a lot.
     
  2. GLC

    GLC Well-Known Member

    PG is the same thing as P - you just G-cancel (push guard) the sequence so you don't get PP (punch, body blow) when you need P,P (as punch, punch). A bit of advice: look up the basics before posting lame questions in the forum! /versus/images/icons/mad.gif Check the VF4 FAQ or use the search for info. THEN post if you come up against a problem you can't look up.
     
  3. ReCharredSigh

    ReCharredSigh Well-Known Member

    yeap, not to mention

    1) you could've somehow guessed that it was punch,guard....P=punch, G=guard?
    2) this was covered in my FAQ...under the punch section...didn't read the move analysis, did you? /versus/images/icons/grin.gif
     
  4. GLC

    GLC Well-Known Member

    under the punch section...didn't read the move analysis, did you?

    He missed it while being too busy cutting through all the bushes /versus/images/icons/wink.gif Sorry, couldn't resist.
     
  5. ReCharredSigh

    ReCharredSigh Well-Known Member

    haha...well, he could've typed in Ctrl+F and searched for PG...it would've came up... then he wouldn't have to run through all the crap /versus/images/icons/grin.gif don't worry, i'll TRY to shorten the FAQ sometime soon.
     
  6. Mirage

    Mirage Well-Known Member

    "PG is the same thing as P - you just G-cancel (push guard) the sequence so you don't get PP (punch, body blow) "

    Sorry , I did read the move part but that was 2 weeks ago, sorry I forgot it... however, I still don't get it, If I just hit P once, do I still need to push G? the second punch doesn't seens come out itself unless I hit P twice.

    or push G just to make sure the second punch won't come out?

    Thanks a lot for you time.
     
  7. GLC

    GLC Well-Known Member

    PG will cancel both canned PP and PK... and it's usually a good habit to hit G anyway. There's a fixed frame window (in VF2 and VF3 it was 20 frames, not sure about VF4 - but I'd guess it hasn't been changed) in which the game will treat 2nd P as preprogrammed follow-up (the body blow). After that time, the 2nd P will become a high punch.
     

Share This Page