1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

reversal window too small?

Discussion in 'Dojo' started by agios_katastrof, May 3, 2002.

1. agios_katastrof

agios_katastrof Well-Known Member

I'm just a newbie, so I was wondering what the better players thought about this.

Isn't the reversal window just too small to be of practical use?

I mean, you can't do them on reaction, and even if you buffer them, you are usually hit before the reversal even has a chance to come out. I mean, if you kinda know what attack your opponent is going to do, why not just do a sabaki/inashi? Or a MC? What am I missing here? Why risk a reversal?

I'm not asking for silly DOA3 reversals, but just something that can be used a bit more often. And I see that even in high level play vids, that reversals don't exactly come into play. This is a big shame, because the reversals have some of the nice animations around.

2. Plague

Plague Well-Known Member

PSN:
    plague-cwa
    XBL:
    HowBoutSmPLAGUE
    "...I mean, if you kinda know what attack your opponent is going to do, why not just do a sabaki/inashi? Or a MC? What am I missing here? Why risk a reversal?"

That's most of the answer to your question right there. Reversals don't do that much damage compared to an MC/Inashi combo.

However, reversals are great to interrupt someone's flow and throw off their confidence ever so slightly (because you graphically told them that they are predictable).

I agree with your point of animation sweetness, though. Also, my experience has also included some gratifying "nice move," comments from some opponents after a reversal.