1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Shun Strategies!

Discussion in 'Shun' started by DrunkenFist, Aug 31, 2010.

1. DrunkenFist

DrunkenFist Active Member

Figured since all the other characters have multiple strategies figured I would start one on the character I like playing with. I actually started playing with him because when I started playing VF5 I was on a steep learning curve. My friend had already been playing VF's for a while and really got into it in VF4, so I was trying to find my character. I tried a bunch of different people then I tried Shun. See when you are fighting someone real technical who relies on numbers and on guaranteed things Shun can really switch that up for you. When Shun drinks he gets faster and stronger which can throw off timing of some players. Now once you start making a player second guess himself and start to turtle up that's when it gets interesting. You can still play your game but they can't play theirs. I will post more about actually things I have learned when I get a bit more time. Feel free to add!

2. Hazzerone

Hazzerone Well-Known Member

"Turtling up" against shun wouldn't be my strat of choice when facing him.

In fact vs Shun I try to be more aggressive (abare) than usual as I definitely don't want him getting [P][+][G] throw on me and gaining 4 drinks, and I definitely don't want him to win a round and gain 2-3drinks.

Creating distance against him just allows him to drink also.

Despite this I have nowhere near enough practice versus Shun's (I'm looking at you, dwindled VF community) and still fall for shenanigans (successful sabaki launcher and mule kick till I die bro!!)

3. DrunkenFist