1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Virtua Fighter 1/Virtua Fighter Remix Ranking Mode

Discussion in 'The Vault' started by Virtually Driven, Apr 13, 2017.

1. Hello,

I could really use anyone's old school knowledge for help on Ranking Mode for these two games. I've been playing them on and off for 20 years or so, and recently I've been practicing everyday to really hone my skills and get the highest rank in Ranking Mode. The issue is...what is it??? I've read a lot about Ranking Mode in the later games which is more comprehensive than VF1/Remix.

I learned about the Kyu and Dan rankings, but I've never gotten higher than maybe 7th Dan (for VF1) or High Ranking Expert in Remix for some characters. In VF Remix, I finally earned Master rank with Akira which was mind-blowing since he was always the hardest character for me to play. Is Master the highest in Remix? What about VF1? Is the highest rank Shin? It's hard because the rank is spoken in Japanese and I'm a native English speaker. The music and number given are the only way of knowing what I got. And I always wondered about that elusive third track I've never actually heard in Ranking Mode (only in sound test).

I'm working on Kage now and am kind of struggling with what tactics are the most effective. I want to try to work on Pai and Jeffrey, too. My sister (also a long time player) earned Master with Sarah, Jacky and Wolf and is having a hard time with Lau. We've both been playing for so long, and we have a few ideas on how the ranking system works only from the "master's advice" on the rank screens.