1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

What Game to Start With

Discussion in 'New Starter' started by kiko17, Mar 22, 2016.

1. kiko17

kiko17 Member

Hi, I am brand new to virtua fighter. I played some other fighting games before and I play smash a lot. But something drew me to virtua fighter. I have a wii u and a ps2 but not a xbox 360 or ps3. Is VF4 a good game to get introduced to the series? Or should I wait and save money for VF5.

Ares-olimpico likes this.
  2. Manjimaru

Manjimaru Grumpy old man

PSN:
    manjimaruFI
    XBL:
    freedfrmtheReal
    VF4 is close enough to "modern VF5" to work as an introduction to the series. VF3 on the other hand is too different, having things like separate button for evading and so on.

3. YOMI

YOMI not a legendary game designer

PSN:
    buttoi-man
    I think if you get too comfortable with 4 and it's harsher mechanics FS might come quite strange feeling in comparison. I'd just save money for FS or even vanilla 5.

4. MarlyJay

MarlyJay Moderator - 9K'ing for justice. Staff Member Gold Supporter

PSN:
    MarlyJay
    XBL:
    MarlyJay
    I think VF4 or VF4:evolution are great places to start. Better single player and tutorials. Get Evo for the PS2.

Rodnutz and nou like this.
  5. nou

nou Well-Known Member

Starting with VF4:Evolution is a great start.

6. og23

og23 Well-Known Member

VF4 Evo would probably be a good choice, everything in FS in simplified in comparison. If you start learning in 4, you'll be sick in no time. That being said, FS is really simple, hella straight forward, and only 15 dollars digital, so you should probably just go with that

7. oneida

oneida Long Arm of the Lau Silver Supporter

PSN: