1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Which character to pick for a noobie..?

Discussion in 'Dojo' started by slacker_bob, Mar 22, 2002.

1. slacker_bob

slacker_bob New Member

Hello....this is the first virtua fighter game i have ever played and I was wondering whether you guys could give me some info on who are good starting characters and who the advanced but best characters are....If it helps any im pretty good ad tekken tag so moves shouldn't be too hard to pull off...any input will be greatly appreciated...thanks in advance..

2. gribbly

gribbly Well-Known Member

Start with Jacky. Or Lei Fei. But don't button mash.

grib.

3. milhouse

milhouse Member

I'm new to VF as well, but an experienced Tekken fighter. I've started with Lei Fei. I think the different stances would throw off a total newbie, but an experienced fighter should be ok. He seems pretty cool. If I could just find a move for when the opponent is lying down....

4. CreeD

CreeD Well-Known Member

I'll second the vote for jacky. I wouldn't bother with lei. He isn't much like other VF characters, and to understand VF properly you should understand basic attacks like how an elbow works, what a knee does, how a typical PPPx combo is used... Jacky's got all of these. Lei's either doesn't have them, or his versions are pretty weird and may be used differently.

5. Aeon

Aeon Well-Known Member

I think Sarah is the perfect character for a beginner simply because she has a nice blend of speed, range, and damage potential. None of her moves are hard to pull off, but you need to develop control and timing to avoid being punished regularly.

That said, it is possible to mash with her some.