1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Wolf's d+K+G

Discussion in 'The Vault' started by Guest, Nov 3, 1999.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

I'm new to VF3tb and am finding this site very helpful. Mr. Chan's article on reversals was especially good for a beginner like me. Now I am trying to learn Wolf's moves and have a question. I read the article in the War Room on changes from VF3 to Vf3tb. It says that one of the changes is that Wolf's d+K low kick has been weakened and its animation changed. It says to get his old d+k, you have to input either d+K+G or d+K+E. However, when I press d+K+G or d+K+E, it looks identical to d+K. Is there something defective about my game? Or is it my eyes? What looks different?

Wolfstudent

2. ice-9

ice-9 Well-Known Member

The difference is very slight (although the distinction is important)--it's probably your eyes. Once you get more used to him, I'm pretty sure you'll be able to tell the two apart.

ice-9 | Sennin

3. Guest

Guest Guest

What is the slight difference and how is it important? I don't understand how a slight animation change can be important, but I guess I have a lot to learn.

Wolfstudent

4. Nutlog

Nutlog Well-Known Member

I think the difference is that Wolf leans back slightly farther in the old version. It is more useful for avoiding (or interrupting) mid attacks.

5. ice-9

ice-9 Well-Known Member

When MC -> throw, d+K gives you a 2 frame window whereas d+K+E gives you a one frame window. I could be wrong, but I do think d+K+E has a longer recovery time. Also, as Nutlog pointed out, Wolf crouches longer in the d+K+E animation.

ice-9 | Sennin

6. Guest

Guest Guest