1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

Yes, i'm a newb...controller holding?

Discussion in 'Console' started by whodat, May 27, 2002.

1. whodat

whodat Member

Heh, hey guys. I'm new to this board, and quite frankly, new to VF4. I just rented it a couple of days ago and i know i want to buy it. With all these intense combos, i cant find a way to hold the controller the right way so that its easier to do different button combonations. Any advice? =/ . Just as a backround, i first tried Kage but could not pull off anything with him, so i am now Jacky and progressing in skill. I'd just like to thank all of you who put up Jacky techniques, cuz they helped me.

2. Myke

Myke Administrator Staff Member Content Manager Kage

PSN:
    Myke623
    XBL:
    Myke623
    Thread moved from Junky's Jungle.

3. Str4toS

Str4toS Member

Hullo,
    There is a good compromise between an arcade stick and a normal game pad:
    just use Triangle as Guard, R1 as Punch and R2 as Kick. This conf. allows you to have your fingers placed just as in arcade :p

Matthias

4. Wedge

Wedge Member

I'm still using the default config, but I wish I had learned it using the method described by Str4toS. There are many advantages, including the advanced techniques like throw-escape guards, and evading throw escape guards are easier with that config.

I know a few people who keep the default controls, but hold the controller differently. They set the controller on a knee, operate the gamepad with left hand, as usual.
    However, they use the right hand on the buttons with index finger on square ([G]), middle finger on triangle ([P]), and ring finger on circle ([K]).