1. Hey Guest, looking for Virtua Fighter 5: Ultimate Showdown content? Rest assured that the game is identical to Virtua Fighter 5: Final Showdown so all current resources on here such as Command Lists with frame data, Combo Lists and the Wiki still apply. However, you can expect some VF5US specific changes to come soon!
    Dismiss Notice

VF Noob makes it to Veteran rank and beyond

Discussion in 'New Starter' started by Shensun, Jun 8, 2021.

By Shensun on Jun 8, 2021 at 8:48 PM
  1. Shensun

Shensun Active Member

[​IMG]

Greetings VF Community. I joined about a week ago and thought I'd document my journey in this thread to hopefully help other newcomers get into the series.

I made the following thread about a week ago when I joined, and ever since I've been playing VF online every night

https://virtuafighter.com/threads/vf-noob-starting-with-pai-akira.21575/

I was a complete noob at Virtua Fighter and I last played the game properly on the Dreamcast with Virtua Fighter 3TB. I've always been fascinated with VF and wanted to learn the game properly. Ultimate Showdown gave me the perfect opportunity to do so.

My characters of choice were Akira, Pai and Lau. I always wanted to use these 3 as they remind me of Ryo, Shenhua and Lan Di from Shenmue.

[​IMG]

As everyone knows, Akira is considered one, if not the hardest character in the game. I decided to leave Akira for the time being and choose a beginner-friendly character, which some of you kindly told me was Pai. (Just my luck, as I wanted to use her :) )

If you're struggling to choose a character and need some help, check out this video. It's amazing and very in-depth. Either way, try a few characters. Eventually, you will use one that naturally clicks with you.

Our friend @Sonic The Fighters also made this awesome post that will help you select the right character as a beginner.

[​IMG]

The next steps explain how I reached the higher ranks.

Step One - VF In Game Tutorial